there’s a shadow on the page

there’s a shadow on the page
putting the pen to pape
causes me pain

I’m tired of writing
about bleeding hearts
all I desire is rest

but the urge to write
burns my insides
and I must have ink on my palms
to feel accomplished

so I put pen to paper
but there’s a shadow on the page
I can’t escape

midnight black hood over the words
I can’t run away
it’s everywhere
stealing up 
each and every blank page

following me
stalking the blue lines
that remain untouched 

pour me a drink
so I might spit
right in its damn face
better than the useless tears
blinking 
raining
on the page

there’s a shadow on the page
and I’m sending it back to the hell it came from

I’ve had enough 
of bleeding hearts
and useless tears

give me a pen
so I can stab up the page
and ruin the darkness
that’s fallen over my words

no more shadows
for me
nevermore said the raven in my brain

Leave a comment