flickering thoughts

flickering thoughts
mind chained to autopilot
droning on and on
ejection button ripped off
struggling to get out

stress compressed
nerves are fractured
like all the best

I can’t tell
beyond all the lichen
covering the blueprints
how the hell
to get out of this mess
how the hell
to make it all make sense

I could turn it all off
crash and burn spectacularly
only to suffer in the silence

I’m calmer with the streams on
cascading falls
contrails of information

cry me a river
and I’ll sit forever
in rapture of you
and the show you’ve become

All these infinite variants
of civilization
haunts me so
all roads lead back
to the fall of Rome

I can’t get enough
of this voyeuristic intimacy
urges in all their simplicity
making waves
of these cloudy days

All these shadow puppets
cast over the light box
taking their clothes off
exposing their skin
revealing nothing within

© 2014 Nette Ford: @ClubNette All Rights Reserved

Leave a comment